Fawn Review interviews ethereal photographer Kendall Bouchlas

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Looking at the portfolio of upcoming photographer Kendall Bouchlas, I am struck by two things.

Firstly and most intensely, the beauty they capture and talent they convey. Secondly, a massive sense of underachievement. Because Bouchlas is a mere eighteen years old. Her CV boasts having her photos being featured by Vogue online, as well as being profiled by the Huffington Post as one of their young and upcoming artists to look out for in 2013.

When I was eighteen, I think my proudest achievement was managing to train my cat to perch itself on the top of my head, like a turban. And, no, Vogue didn’t cover it as a new trend I’d discovered. And yet for all her success, Bouchlas is not in the least jaded. When Fawn Review got in touch to request an interview, she was very obliging and happy to share her story.

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

She was first inspired to pick up a camera when a friend became interested in photography. She explains that

Up until that point I had tried at least fifteen different hobbies but nothing was sticking with me.”

However, photography was something that did stick and stuck steadfastly. Her hobby at the age of fifteen turned into a major passion and a lot of ambition in the three years that followed.

Bouchlas’ interest in photography first led her to take photographs of herself, before she moved on to taking more complex and elaborate shots of her sisters Hadley and Layton, who are still her primary models for her images today.

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

 

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Bouchlas attributes her success to passion as well as an unbridled imagination,

Photography is everything to me, no matter how cliche it it to say it, it’s the truth! I feel so exhilarated when I’m planning and completing a shoot. It is such a rush of adrenaline and ideas! I feel like anything is possible.”

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

For such exotic and creative shoots, Bouchlas finds her inspiration in surprisingly grounded places,

I come up with my ideas when I see something that inspires me. Like other artists’ work or when I’m out shopping for clothes. I’ll see a hat or dress and think, now that would work in my next photo-shoot”

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Image courtesy of Kendall Bouchlas

Upon leaving High School, Bouchlas intends to hone her skills by studying photography at college, before launching a full time career as a photographer. When I ask her if she ever finds it difficult being a young woman in an industry so dominated by middle aged men, she asserts 

I can’t say that I have been treated differently so far. I do know that I will continue to work hard to be better with each photograph. And if my work is good, hopefully that is all people will focus on.”

With a portfolio as strong as this, it doesn’t look like she’ll be giving the industry any other option than to focus on exactly that.

To view more of Kendall’s portfolio, click here to visit her Facebook page or here to visit her Tumblr.

You can also get hold of one of the images for yourself by visiting Bouchlas on ebay here.

**Fawn Review now has Facebook, click here to visit the page and for more articles on the interesting and beautiful in art. **

